PITTSBURG - The Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas (CHC/SEK) recently hosted its annual Employee Recognition Awards with a dinner and ceremony honoring employees for five and ten years of service. This year's ceremony honored 28 employees who have a combined 185 years of service to CHC/SEK.

“We have a remarkably dedicated staff that goes above and beyond every day to make a positive difference for our patients and our communities.” said Krista Postai, CHC/SEK CEO. “They are the very heart and soul of CHC/SEK.”

Those recognized for five years of service include Jennifer Adkins, APRN; Nathan Blanchard, Robyn Buckle, Larry Bunce, Sheri Chastain, Sam Hayes, Kelly Heiskell, Ginger Hubbard, Tina Johnson, Sarah Joplin, Jo Kinzie, RDH; Rick Little, Carrie Logiudici, Lori Moody, Amy Phillips, Jeff Schmitt, Cindy Smith, Bette Stansbury and Maritza Zaldana.

Those recognized for ten years include Dawn Ackley, William Todd Carl, APRN; Nancy Cashero, APRN; Kim Fowler, RDH; Lori Holt, Dr. JoAnn McCleeary, PsyD; Rob Poole, Becky Spainhower and Toni West.

Special awards were also presented during the evening with Jeremiah Hagen, System Administrator, receiving the Sticky Notable Award — which recognizes someone who demonstrates determination and a tenacity to get things done no matter the obstacles.

The evening concluded with the presentation of the Sheridan Award, CHC/SEK’s highest honor, to clinical psychologist Dr. JoAnn McCleeary. The award, named for Mother Mary Bernard Sheridan of the Sisters of St. Joseph, is awarded to someone who displays an extraordinary commitment to CHC/SEK’s mission.

“Dr. McCleeary has dedicated her life and her career to caring for others,” said Jason Wesco, CHC/SEK Executive Vice President. “She embodies the spirit of service that is personified by Mother Sheridan.” Dr. McCleeary earned her Doctor of Clinical Psychology in 2002 from the Forest Institute of Professional Psychology. She is also a Licensed Clinical Addiction Counselor and member of the American Psychological Association. She began her career with CHC/SEK in 2007.

The Employee Recognition Awards are presented each May as part of CHC/SEK’s anniversary celebration.