Field to be narrowed to top two candidates for general election in November

COLUMBUS - The City of Columbus will hold a primary election on Aug. 1, to narrow the field of candidates for Mayor from four down to two. The top two vote-getters of the primary will be on the ballot for the general election on Nov. 7.

The candidates are current Mayor William E. Schaiff, Gerald Messer, Grant Speith, and Henry Dale Burton. Speith is a former mayor and currently serves on the city council, and Burton is a former councilman.

Schaiff had previously served as mayor as well, before his current term, which has been active since Sept. 12, 2016, when then-mayor Dexter Opela resigned. Schiff was at the time on the city council and had been elected President of the Council, by the other members. When Opela stepped down, the council voted to have Schiff, as president, take over as mayor.

Election day voting will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Columbus Community Building. Advanced voting will be accepted by mail from July 12 until noon on July 31. The last day to apply for advanced voting by mail is July 25. Advanced ballots must otherwise be turned in by 7 p.m. on Aug. 1. The last day to register to vote in time for the election us July 11.