TOPEKA - Enrollment in football is counted in the ninth through eleventh grades, and are locked in for two years. These classifications go in effect next year.

In classes 6A, 5A, and 4A there will be 32 teams. Wichita East is the largest with 1,884. Kansas City-Harmon moves up from 5A as the smallest with 1,062 students to 6A.

Shawnee-Mill Valley would stay in class 5A as the largest with 1,048, and Hays moves up as the smallest with 621.

Pittsburg with 618 moves down to 4A as the largest, Baldwin the smallest with 329. Ft Scott 446, Independence 428, Chanute 405, and Coffeyville-Field Kinley 373, will remain in Class 4A.

Class 3A will have 48 schools, with six district opponents in eight districts. Topeka-Hayden will be the largest with 329, and Hiawatha the smallest with 182. Iola 291, Parsons 275, Frontenac 227, Galena 227, Columbus 222, Baxter Springs 221, and Caney 194 will be in 3A.

Class 2A will also have 48 schools. Riley county will be largest with 178, edging out Riverton with 176. Fredonia 171,Cherryvale 157, Neodesha 156, Humboldt 131, Erie 130, Eureka 126, Cherokee-Southeast 121, and Arma-Northeast with 117 will play in class 2A.

Class 1A has 31 football schools with Waubaunsee’s 113 the largest. St-Mary’s Colgan came under the wire to play 1A with 111. A good argument for some states adding a weighted factor for private schools as they do not get state money based on enrollment. Public school districts want every student present on counting day. Centralia is the smallest with 64. The Panthers are the only school in Southeast Kansas still playing 11-man football.

Schools with less than 100 students in the three grade levels have the option to play 8-man football. Oswego with 87 football enrollment has chosen to play 8-man next year. In Division I are Cedar-Dexter 79, and Sedan 66 and will play in the upper division. Division II 8-man will have Chetopa 55, and St Paul 47. Buffalo-Altoona Midway will field a team with 34 students.