PITTSBURG - Turkey season is fast approaching. Don’t disappoint family members or young friends by not having them prepared for the upcoming season.
Kansas law requires that all persons 16 years of age or older, who were born after July 1, 1957, must pass an approved hunter education course before purchasing a hunting license. No one can be certified in hunter education until attaining 11 years of age. Children under 11 may attend classes, but certification will not be awarded. Any youth 15 years of age or younger, whether a resident or non-resident, is allowed to hunt in Kansas without first being certified in an approved hunter education course, provided that the youth is hunting under the direct supervision of a licensed adult 18 years of age or older. Any child under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an adult regardless of whether they have hunter education certification or not. Additionally, any youth who is 12 years of age or older, but less than 16 years of age, may hunt by themselves provided they have been certified through an approved hunter education course.
One spring class has been scheduled in Pittsburg in 2018. The class includes three sessions. One must attend all three sessions to become certified. Class dates are: March 13, 15, 17 (Tue/Thur/Sat) PSU Campus, Kelce Hall, Room 224 (Northeast corner of Broadway St. and Cleveland Ave.)
Weekday classes are from 6 to 9:30 p.m. The Saturday class is from 8 a.m. until noon. No pre-registration is necessary and there is no cost. Books and study materials will be provided. Parents are encouraged to attend. All children under 11 years of age must be accompanied by an adult.
The hunter education classes are sponsored by Pittsburg State University and the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks, and Tourism.
Experienced volunteer instructors teach sessions covering subjects including basic firearms safety, wildlife management, wildlife in Kansas, the history of firearms, first aid, care of game, laws and regulations, and more. The Saturday class includes a field course where participants are walked through hunting situations and actually get to shoot a bow, shotgun and rifle.
For more information contact the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism office at 620-231-3173. All hunter education classes scheduled statewide and much more can be found on KDWPT’s web page at www.ksoutdoors.com.