Cherokee County Retired School Personnel met at noon on April 18, at the First United Methodist Church in Columbus. Colleen Johnson asked the blessing before the delicious meal was served by the United Methodist Women in LaRue Fellowship Hall. Lunch consisted of ham, party potatoes, green beans, creamed corn, bread and a variety of salads and deserts.

President Pat Spriggs called the business meeting to order. Spriggs introduced two guests: Vickie Reagan and Jane Martin, District VI Director.

Rebecca Edmondson, secretary, read the minutes of the March 21 meeting. Treasurer, Myrna Martin, gave the treasurer’s report.

Fay Scholes, Scholarship Chair, requested guidance on this year’s scholarships. It was decided to give $400 scholarships to two Columbus students going into the field of education.

Volunteer hours and the number of hours spent working with children was turned in at the meeting today.

The president reported sending sympathy cards to Virginia Norris’ son and to Margaret McColm on the passing of her sister.

The president thanked today’s committee led by Fay Scholes. Members enjoyed playing several games of “School Bingo.”

The scholarship door prize, a Walmart gift card, was won by Alice Holt. “School Bingo” door prizes were won by Rebecca Edmondson, Connie Farley, Barbara Farstvedt, Athena McColm, Hilda Parrish, and Vickie Reagan.

The 30 members present were Donna Alvested, Peggy Coble, Debi Cornog, Linda Decker, Wilma Duley, Rebecca Edmondson, Connie Farley, Barbara Farstvedt, Linda Garrison, Mary Griffith, Alice Holt, Marva Sue Holt, Colleen Johnson, Betty Martin, Myrna Martin, Erma McClure, Athena McColm, Margaret McColm, Pat Niggeman, Hilda Parrish, Beverly Rahmeier, Fay Scholes, Barbara Simpson, LaDonna Smith, Mary Soper, Pat Spriggs, Erma Stover, Lorna Stover, Ann Thiele, and Jane Ann Turner.

The next meeting will be at noon on Wednesday, May 16, at the Columbus Masonic Lodge.