Sheriff's Department honored with seventh consecutive AAA Community Traffic Safety Award

COLUMBUS - "The number one Sheriff and staff in the State of Kansas."

Those were the words David Corp, law enforcement liaison for the Kansas Department of Transportation, used when describing Cherokee County Sheriff David Groves and his department. Corp presented Groves with the AAA Kansas Community Traffic Safety Award on Monday, during the Cherokee County Board of Commissioner's weekly meeting. This is the seventh consecutive year the department has received the award, and fifth consecutive they've been among the top in the state. In 2011 and 2012, the agency received gold awards, but for the past five years the Sheriff’s Office has been the recipient of the highest level award: Platinum.

"The platinum is the highest level of award AAA bestows," Corp said. "No other sheriff's department in Kansas has achieved that kind of consistency at the highest level."

According to Corp, the department was one of only seven law enforcement agencies, and one of just two sheriff's departments that have earned a AAA award in each of the seven years of the program.