Filing deadline for city offices was Tuesday and in Columbus the final filings are in.

In Ward 1 Joyce Begando and Dale Burton are running for the open seat of John Paradee.

In Ward 2 Incumbent Nick Lucian is facing challenger David Morrison.

In Ward 3 incumbent Gary Smith is running unopposed.

In Ward 4 Barbara Capron is running unopposed for Steve Dunlap's open seat and in Ward 5 Doug Hosier is running unopposed.

In countywide offices, Tammie Speer has filed as a Democrat for the Register of Deeds position. She will be facing Barabra Bilkie who was appointed to fill the unexpired portion of Christy Grant's term when Grant retired late last year.

Melanie Bingham has filed for county attorney as a Democrat.

Sheriff David Groves has filed for reelection as well. He is a Democrat.

Republican Richard Hilderbrand, who is the current Cherokee County Commission chairman, has yet to file for reelection but said he plans to do so soon.

In Baxter Springs the final filings were Ron Steele in Ward 1. He is unopposed. Incumbent Lori Wren is facing a challenged from Gretta Day in Ward 2. Incumbent Don Underwood is being challenged by Randal Trease for the Ward 3 seat he was appointed to by Mayor Jenifer Bingham. Mike Kaufman is running unopposed for his Ward 4 seat.

In West Mineral, Larry Overman and Kurt Johnson are both running unopposed and there is a third seat available which will be decided by write-in.