BAXTER SPRINGS -- The six Baxter Springs City Council member sometimes known as the "Council Six" who have been at odds with Mayor Jenifer Bingham over mayoral powers and the attempt by Bingham to oust long-time City Clerk Dona Wixon and long-time police chief David Edmondson are the subject of an investigation by the Kansas Attorney General's office, the Cherokee County News-Advocate has learned.

According to a story in the Joplin Globe council members Mike Kaufmann, Ed McAfee, Gary Allen, Robert St. Clair, Ron Costlow and Ron Steele were sent questionnaires by Assistant Attorney General Lisa Mendoza related to alleged Kansas Open Meetings Act violations. Steele resigned from the council about three weeks ago after moving to Riverton.

Costlow, McAfee and Allen are currently facing a recall election next week. The recall petition alleged that the three violated the Kansas open-meetings law -- and there have been repeated allegations of KOMA violations during meetings, although requests from the six for pictures Bingham claims she has of an alleged secret meeting have been fruitless.

More on this story as it develops, at