APRIL 28, 2009

Broadcast students net 17 awards

Student broadcasters from Pittsburg State University took home 17 state awards, including nine for first place, at the Kansas Association of Broadcasters’ annual banquet, held earlier this month in Topeka.

In the undergraduate category, Aaron Thompson of Columbus with Kaylan Baker of Taylorsville, Ga. and Eric Stripling of Shawnee won first place for their enterprise news package “Malcolm Jamal Warner Visits Pittsburg State” and for their complete sports feature “2008 Springball Package.”

Aaron Thompson, is a senior at Pittsburg State University majoring in Communication, is the son of Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth Thompson, Columbus

“This university prides itself on giving students an opportunity to succeed,” said Dr. Troy Comeau, director of broadcasting. “When that success is recognized it makes our entire PSU family very proud.”

Students from Pittsburg State competed in a variety of broadcasting categories against students from all other colleges and universities in the state of Kansas. In addition to the first place awards, PSU students received three second-place awards and five honorable mention awards this year.

In radio production, first place winners were Zoel Lopez of Pittsburg for his personality air check “Z is for Zoel Radio Show” and for his 30-second commercial “JT’s Spec Ad.” Lopez also received an honorable mention award for his complete sports feature “KC Royals Interview.” An honorable mention award was also given to Zach Howard of Pittsburg and Brianna Buchanan of Salina, for their 30-second commercial “Brentwood Apartments.”

In the graduate student category of television production, first place winners were Howard and Brock Lohr of Pittsburg, for their complete sports feature “Derek Wise,” and Kristen Livingston of Neodesha, and Pam Peters of Richmond, for their documentary “Osa Johnson: The Woman Time Forgot.”

Anthony Monteleone of Carl Junction, Mo., and Tyler Swezey of Drexel, Mo., won first place for their documentary “Everyone Lives Downstream.” Stripling, Swezey, Liz Harris of Pittsburg, Brandon Buck of Olathe, Tyler Meyer of Valley Falls, and Justin Cartwright of Parsons, won first for their sports production “Women’s Basketball vs. Emporia State.” Aaron Loehr of Wichita, and Aaron Oestreicher of Garnett, won first for their hard news package “Pitt State’s New Website.”

Second place winners included Baker for her sports feature “The Life of a Basketball Player” and Lohr, Jordan Beggs of Overland Park, and Brian Caulkins of Coffeyville, for their complete news feature “Pitt Stops.” Lopez, Harris, Swezey, Stripling, Thompson, Loehr, Dallas Cross of Olathe, Doug Magill of Kansas City, Andrew Reeves of Buhler, Jonna Fearmonti of Pittsburg, and Christina Brown of Pittsburg, also took second place for their sports production “Pitt State football vs. Central Missouri”.

Honorable mentions were awarded to Reeves and Stripling for their entertainment program “The Sideline,” while Stripling, Lopez, Reeves, Cross, Swezey, Myer, Harris, Magill, Loehr, Brown, Buck, Fearmoniti, and Leslie Haynes of Wichita, were noted for their sports productions “Pitt State football vs. Fort Hays State” and “Pitt State football DII NCAA playoff game vs. University of Nebraska-Omaha.”