GALENA - With 15 schools participating, the Galena High School held their annual Bulldog Relays last Thursday. They edged Baxter Springs in the boys division with 100 points to the Lion's 92. Riverton came in third with 73 points.

Galena received first places by Jacob Wheelen (23.40) in the 200M Dash, Matthew Oglesby in the 3200M Run (10:20.88), and the 4x400M Relay with Henson, Blake Booth, Matt Adams, and M.J. Jones. The Bulldogs also picked up second finishes with Oglesby in the 1600M Run, and Wheelen in the long jump.

Other Bulldogs placing were Nick Sarwinski fourth in the 400M Dash, Jones finished fourth in the high jump, and Adams finished sixth. Dylan Watkins took fourth in the Pole Vault. Brayden Roberts was third in the Shot Put, and fourth in the Javelin. Booth jumped to third in the long jump, and Deacon Jones took fourth. The Bulldogs also finished fourth in the 4x800M Relay.

Trey White from Baxter Springs won the High Jump with a height of 6’ 0’. Jacob Burks won the Javelin with a throw of 141’ 7”. Garrett Gantt took second in the 800M Run and the 3200M Run. A.J. Himes took a second in the Shot Put, and fourth in the Discus. Preston Landis took fourth in the 110M Hurdles, and third in the Javelin. Collin Bivins jumped to third place in the High Jump. Max Sheffer finished second in the Discus, and sixth in the Javelin. Kain McCully took fourth place in the 400M Dash, and Kolby Stark fourth in the 300M Hurdles. The Lions Spencer Barnard, Landis, White, and McCully also won the 4x100M Relay.

Riverton’s Jeremiah Wald picked up 24 points for the Rams after winning the Long Jump (20’ 4 ¾”), the Triple Jump ( 38’ 11 ¾”), and placing fourth in the 100M Dash. J P Rutledge won the 1600M Run, and finished third in the 400M Dash. Jarret Ebner won the 110M Hurdles (17.17), and came in second in the 400M Dash. In the Javelin Tyler Hallam placed second, and Tyler Zustiak picked up points for the Rams with a third finish in the 1600M Run, and a sixth place finish in the 800M Run.

Additional first place winners were Lane Wilson of Thomas Jefferson (11.49) in the 100M Dash, Brendon Ishimura from Frontenac in the 400M Dash (52.41), Tyler Stebbins of Liberal in the 800M Run (2:09), John Black of Neodesha in the Pole Vault (10’ 0”). Anthony Albertini of St Paul in the Shot Put ( 41’ 0”), and in the Discus Austin Johnson won the Discus with a throw of 128’ 10”.