19 Kansans honored as KHF Civic Health Heroes

WICHITA – A community or state is only as strong as the people who go above and beyond to serve others. That’s the spirit behind the annual Kansas Health Foundation Civic Health Heroes awards. This year, 19 Kansans are being honored as Civic Health Heroes, as part of ongoing efforts by KHF to recognize individuals who make a difference in the lives of those around them.

“The spirit of community is best exemplified by lending a helping hand, going the extra mile or taking on the roles no one else wants or thinks to do,” said Steve Coen, KHF president and CEO. “It’s a pleasure to honor and recognize this year’s Civic Health Heroes. Each and every one of them demonstrates a commitment and character that needs to be celebrated.”

Here are the 19 recipients of the 2018 KHF Civic Health Hero awards, as well as their home county:

⦁ Brenda Amaro, Sedgwick County

⦁ Claudia Amaro, Sedgwick County

⦁ Tracia Banuelos, Sedgwick County

⦁ Joan Boswell, Kingman County

⦁ Brittany Crabtree, Shawnee County

⦁ Jessica Gerlach, Sumner County

⦁ Roger Haug, Nemaha County

⦁ Joni Hiatt, Johnson County

⦁ Rosina Houle, Douglas County

⦁ Dr. Nizar Kibar, Sedgwick County

⦁ Jenifer McDonald, Crawford County

⦁ Brittany Moore, Shawnee County

⦁ Judy Nehar, Shawnee County

⦁ Heather Wright Renick, Finney/Grey Counties

⦁ Susan Schultz, Cherokee County

⦁ Matthew Shepherd, Lyon/Chase Counties

⦁ Jeanette Siemens, Pratt County

⦁ Luisa Taylor, Sedgwick County

⦁ Bev Vaughn, Thomas County

Nominations for the Civic Health Heroes program are accepted each year during National Volunteer Week, which this year was April 15-21. Final award recipients are then selected based on received nominations.