Abbott, Trease, and Fry chosen first team

The Baseball and Softball All-CNC League teams have been released.

Listed as an infielder, who was also the number one in the Lions pitching rotation, junior Landon Abbott was chosen first team. Joining him on the elite team from the Lions was senior outfielder Brant Trease. For the softball Lady Lions the well deserving freshman shortstop Allie Fry was chosen on the first team.

League champions Frontenac, who finished the baseball CNC League with a 10-2 record landed four players on the first team. Chosen unanimous were senior pitcher Broc Ginavan, his senior catcher Peyton Brown, and the Raiders outfielder junior Kade Chastain. The Raiders Cooper Cleland was also chosen. The Raiders coach Bill Sullivan was chosen the league’s Coach of the Year.

Seniors from Galena on the first team were pitcher Trevor Little, and Garrett Hall in the outfield. From Riverton sophomore infielder Bryce Johnson, and outfielder senior Gage Kirby were selected. Ethan Goff, a senior pitcher, from Girard was also on the first team.

Columbus landed two Titans on the second team, sophomore pitcher Clay Saporito and junior infielder Jared Graham. Riverton placed two Rams on the second team. Senior catcher Cody McDonald was chosen, and senior Tyler Gumm as a pitcher. Senior J.C. Shelton at pitcher, and senior outfielder Drake Adams were chosen from Galena. Girard’s infielder freshman Kaden Lallemand, and senior outfielder Matt Sabine were on the second team. Infielder sophomore Caleb Arnall of Baxter Springs, and senior outfielder Jake Wilbert from Frontenac rounded out the second team.

Baseball Honorable Mention are: Ridge Smith Columbus senior catcher, Cal Strand Frontenac senior infield, Kooper Lawson Galena junior catcher, Wade Boatman Girard junior infield, Riley Bush Baxter Springs freshman catcher, Carson Shockley Riverton junior infield, Cade Simmons Colgan junior infield.


Girard’s pitchers dominated the Cherokee-Neosho-Crawford League this year. The Lady Trojans were undefeated in regular season play, and finished third in the Class 3A tournament. Their coach Jim Vinze was chosen as the league’s Coach of the Year.

Chosen unanimously from the Lady Trojans were senior pitchers Shelby Smith and Shaylnn Grosstephan. The battery from Frontenac, pitcher Madison Davis and catcher Taylor Peterson, were also chosen unanimous. Infielder sophomore Camryn Compton from Riverton, and senior outfielder Sydnee Crain also received unanimous selection from the coaches.

Two freshmen received the honors of being on the first team: Shortstops Allie Fry of Baxter Springs, and Riley McNemar of Galena. The fourth infielder chosen on the elite team is junior shortstop Nahil Fontenaz of Columbus. In the outfield sophomore Karma Fields of Frontenac, and Jamee Compton of Riverton were honored.

Galena, who finished second in the Class 4A Division II state tournament, landed three Lady Bulldogs on the second team; Pitcher junior Madyson Cox, infielder senior Makayla McNemar, and outfielder senior Paige Jenson. Girard also had three Lady Trojans on the second team, infield seniors Jaylynn Jenkins and Jacey Murphey, and outfielder junior Marci Heatherly.

The Lady Titans of Columbus had two players on the second team, senior pitcher Kinley Walden, and infield freshman Paige Zahm. Finishing the second team are senior pitcher Tabby Claeys of Colgan, senior outfielder Ryleigh Sills of Baxter Springs, and junior infielder Olivia Brynds from Colgan.

Softball Honorable Mention are: Macy Gray Columbus junior outfield, Jara Thrower Galena senior catcher, Kortney Sills Baxter Springs senior catcher, Laney Shireman Girard junior infield, MaKayla Lee Riverton senior outfield, Kaitlin Crossland Colgan freshman pitcher, and Bria Ginavan Frontenac sophomore infield.