State Senator Bob Marshall, R-Fort Scott, announced that the City of West Mineral will receive a $298,528 KAN STEP grant to construct a 6,000 square foot fire station.  

The grant is made available by the Department of Commerce through the Kansas Small Cities Community Development Block Grant program.  As part of the grant requirements, local volunteers will contribute an additional $247,464 in labor and donated equipment. 

“I’m pleased to announce West Mineral has been selected as a recipient of the KAN STEP grant,” said Senator Marshall  “I appreciate the Department of Commerce recognizing the importance of this project and the impact it will have on the community and surrounding areas.” 

Marshall was elected last fall to serve in the Kansas Senate, representing the 13th State Senate District.  The 13th district covers Bourbon and Crawford Counties and part of Cherokee County.