CARTHAGE, Mo. — The Tri-State Major Case Squad hosted it‘s annual meeting last week and elected a new slate of officers.

“Every year we hold our annual meeting in February,” Cherokee County Sheriff David Groves said.

Groves said the squad is an important part of law enforcement in the area.

“It‘s a regional approach to solving major crimes,” Groves said. Anytime there‘s a major crime in another jurisdiction and certain conditions are met the squad can be activated.”

Groves said the best investigators in each agency are part of the squad and will go to assist whatever department in Kansas, Missouri or Oklahoma requests the help.

“With so many crimes going back and forth across the borders it just makes sense,” Groves said. “It‘s a huge asset for this area.”

This year Sheriff Archie Dunn of the Jasper County Sheriff’s Office was elected chairman, Groves is vice-chairman and  the secretary/treasurer is Chief Carl Francis, of the Webb City Police Department.

Board members are: Chief Greg Dagnan, Carthage Police Department, Sheriff Sandy Horton, Crawford County Sheriff’s Office, Chief Lane Roberts, Joplin Police Department, Steve Rosebrough, Kansas Bureau of Investigation, Lieutenant Terry Moore, Missouri State Highway Patrol and Sheriff Ken Copeland, Newton County Sheriff’s Office.