The filing time for city and school board seats closed amid an ice and snowstorm Tuesday.

Though the courthouse was closed, County Clerk Crystal Gatewood opened her office to accommodate those wishing to file for school board office.

The Columbus City Hall was open as the office seekers filed their papers for the upcoming election.


Mayor & Council

Mayor Harley McDaniel did not file for re-election. The only filing for the mayor’s office was by Councilwoman  Marie Nepple.

Ward five will have the only race for the seat of incumbent Connie Bennett, as she is challenged by Jamie L. Robinson.

Incumbent council members in each of the other districts filed for their seats and are unopposed.

In the First Ward, Jerri Burton; in the Second Ward David E. Morrison, in the Third Ward Grant Spieth and in the Fourth Ward Dana Wellmeier.

Doug Mogle was the only file for City Treasurer.

Columbus Hospital Board

Chris Green was the only candide

Columbus Unified School District

Every seat in the school district is contested with mulitple candidates in two of the three positions.

In the Position Four race those filing include Kathy Schoech, Larry Zahm and Brian Spear

In Position Five Anita Walden and Randy Brooks will seek the seat.

In Position Six Joyce E. Jones, Jimmy Bowen, John Lopp, Danny J. Langerot and Daniel O’Hara are .

Baxter Springs

The Baxter Springs City Hall was open and accepted those filing for council seats.

Baxter Springs

School Board

Those filing for Baxter Springs School District 508 Board at large seats included. Chuck Wren, Joseph Skye, Mary Kirkpatrick, Doug Puckett, Kenneth Scott Miles, Andrea K. Brewster, Joel Robert Hall and Brett C. Brittain.

Baxter Springs

 Mayor & Council

Mayor Huey York has filed and will be unopposed in running for a second term as mayor.

There are two contested seats in the upcoming city council election

In Ward One incumbant Stan Pickering opposed by Jenifer Bingham.

In Ward Four incombant Ron Costlow will be opposed by Gerald (Jimmy) Snider.

Ward two incumbent Ed McAfee was the only candidate to file.

Ward three incumbent Gary Allen was the only candidate to file .

Riverton School District

Six candidates for Riverton School Board  District 404 Board of Directors with two positions contested and one position without a candidate.

Position six filings produced a five way race for that seat. Candidates include Nathan Springs, Jordan Paul Andrews, Jerry Wilkins, and John Gaines. For the seat in  Position Four Tom Weimer will be opposed by  Robert Myers for the seat.

Position Five had no candidate file for the seat. It will be filled by the board if write-in candidates are not elected.

Galena School District

Three candidates are running unopposed for seats on the Galena School Board. For position four David Ryan, position five Troy Wade and position 6 Mike Gibson.

Galena Mayor & Council

In the Galena city  election incumbent Mayor Bill Oglesby will be challenged by David Sizemore.

The council seats are unopposed with Matt Alderman filing for the At-Large four year seat and Ken Bankson filing for the At-Large two year seat.

No candidates filed for the Ward Three four year seat. If there are no write-in winners the seat will be filled by the council following the election. However, the appointment would be for a two year period.

Scammon Mayor

 & Council

Mayor Willam Forrest and Treasurer Debra A. Norris will run unopposed as will First ward candidate Darin Cassidy.

However in the Second Ward Nathan Hosier and Bobby J. Norris will compete for the council seat.

In Ward Three Cary D. Duley will oppose Rich Lero for that council seat.

Weir City

In Ward One Dean T. Gravitt will run unopposed.. He was the only candidate to file in for a seat in Weir.

Roseland City Council

Roseland has four candidates for City Council including Keith Warren, Hazel Creson, Dennis Spencer and Mary K. Pomatto.