The Cherokee County Conservation District has set a November 1, 2009 deadline for landowners to apply for cost-share assistance through the Water Resources Cost-Share Program.† Applications will be accepted until 4:00 p.m. November 1, 2009.

Cost-share assistance will be available for the construction of conservation practices located in Cherokee County such as; terraces, waterways, diversions, ponds, stock watering tanks, pipeline, pasture & hayland plantings, and terrace restorations.

Funding for this program is provided by the State Conservation Commission through appropriations from the Kansas Water Plan Fund.

For more information about this program, please call the Cherokee County Conservation District at, (620) 429-3013, or come into the Districtís office located at 300 East Country Road, Columbus, Kansas.† Office hours are 9 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday.