Thursday night was the first board meeting for the new fiscal year for the Columbus school board and the first for three new board members, John Crain, Holly Stover and Scott Thompson who were sworn in at the meeting.

Board member John Lopp was was elected school board president and Kathy Schoech was elected vice-president.

Superintendent David Carriger updated the board on summer maintenance projects. Projects at Columbus Unified High School include painting the building foundation and improvements to the lobby area. Asphalt will be laid on parking lots at Highland and Park Elementaries. Projects at Central include removing the skylights and concrete work. Other projects included replacing doors in several locations, refinishing gym floors and technology projects.

Additionally, the board accepted the resignation of Aaron Sweazy as Assistant Wrestling Coach and voted to hire Crystal Jones as grades K-8 counselor and Jonathan Cook as interim social studies teacher and CUHS head girls’ basketball coach.

The board also voted to accept a $5,000 donation from Robin Wells, director of the Snowball Classic basketball tournament, to establish a CUHS football stadium fund and to accept a $200 donation from Mike Cotter, master of the Masonic Lodge for a scholarship.

The board also voted to authorize the publication of the 2011-12 proposed budget and schedule 6 p.m. August 15 for the budget hearing.

In other business, the board:

• Appointed Susan Wells as Board Clerk and Rhonda Loar as Alternate Board Clerk.

• Appointed Marcia Beggs as District Treasurer.

• Appointed Marcia Beggs as Freedom of Information Officer.

• Designated Columbus Advocate as the official district newspaper.

• Appointed Susan Wells as KPERS Representative.

• Appointed Lopp as the District Representative to the Special Education Board.

• Adopted student fees/textbook fees for Grades K-8: $42, and Grades 9-12: $35 for the 2011-12 school year.

• Voted to hire a certified paraprofessional for the instrumental music department for the 2011-12 school year.